Listing Rules

Eligibility for Listing on the Virtual War Memorial Australia


  • Has served Australia in its armed forces and went in harm’s way in the country’s name during conflicts from the Boer War to the present day.  They need to be listed on an official database as baseline evidence.  This is simply to ensure the integrity of our data and to prevent 'fabrication' of identities.
  • We will include Australian citizens who enlisted in British or Commonwealth forces in the Boer War, WW1 and 2 where that service can be evidenced adequately and the above rules are met. 

'Harm’s way’ is defined by official recognition in the form of the award of a service or campaign medal. These include South African Medal (Boer War), British War Medal (WW1), Australian Service Medal (WW2, 1945-75, 1975-current) and the equivalent Active Service medals, and the more recent Operational Service Medal.


  • People from other Commonwealth countries who have since immigrated to Australia. 
  • Australians who enlisted in another nation's forces in conflicts in which Australia was not involved.
  • People currently serving in the armed forces


Eligibility rules for the Commonwealth War Graves Commission 

The Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC) is responsible for the commemoration of members of the Commonwealth Forces who died during the two World Wars.  

For the purposes of the CWGC, the dates for qualification as Commonwealth War Dead are:

WWI – 4th Aug 1914 – 31st Aug 1921

WWII – 3rd Sep 1939 to 31st Dec 1947

The reason why the First World War period extends to 31 August 1921 is that the 'Termination of the present war (Definition) Act' laid down that the war would officially end when an Order in Council under that Act declared the war ended. This duly occurred on 31 August 1921. The official cut-off point for casualties of the Second World War was established by the member governments of the Commonwealth, agreeing a date that was approximately the same period after the Armistice was signed with Germany, as had been allowed after the First World War.

Commonwealth servicemen and women who died whilst in service during the war periods as shown above, regardless of the cause of death, are accorded war grave status. Additionally, those who were discharged from service but whose deaths occurred within the war periods, from injury or illness caused by or exacerbated by their service in the war are also commemorated by the CWGC. 

It should be noted, that after the First World War, the Australian Government extended official commemoration to include those Australian veterans who died post-war of causes related to their war service.  Official commemoration was extended again after World War II and subsequent Governments have extended official commemoration after other wars and conflicts post-World War II.  

Providing the eligibility criteria is met, official commemoration for an eligible veteran takes the form of provision of a memorial at the site of the remains in a cemetery or crematorium, or the alternative form if the family wish to provide a private memorial or scatter the ashes etc, by provision of a plaque only in an official OAWG Garden of Remembrance.

Information about official post-war commemoration for veterans of the Australian forces can be found on the Australian Department of Veterans' Affairs website at:


Listing Rules for the Australian War Memorial Roll of Honour and the Commemorative Roll

For information on eligibiity for listing on the Roll of Honour please use the link below:


For information on the Commemorative Roll and eligibility criteria please use the link below: