Virtual War Memorial Australia

Virtual War Memorial Australia

Virtual War Memorial Australia is an outstanding commemorative collection, purpose built to honour the personal experiences of all those who have served the nation in times of conflict,  from the Boer War through to Afghanistan. It pays special honour to those who lost their lives as a result of their service and equally honours those who returned, forever changed.

Positioning Statement

"The only memorial which could be worthy of them was the bare uncoloured story of their part in the war."        CEW Bean


To be the outstanding national digital Memorial, acknowledged for its integrity and relevance; its respectful presentation of socio-military history and its capacity to engage and educate individuals and communities.


To provide a worthy home, in perpetuity, for the records and the personal experiences of all individuals who have served and the impact of this service on the individuals themselves, their families and communities.


To commemorate all Australians who have served the nation in times of conflict commencing at the Boer War and Boxer Rebellion and the Great War, World War 2,  Korea, Vietnam,  all Middle East conflicts and all declared Peacekeeping and Peacemaking missions.


Patron -in-chief

General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK AC(Mil) CVO MC (Retd)



The Hon Dr Brendan Nelson AO 

Associate Professor Susan J Neuhaus AM CSC


Patron Emeritus

The Honourable Sir Eric Neal AC CVO



Graham Cornes  OAM

Steve Larkins OAM (Community & Commemoration Ambassador)

Professor Robert J O'Neill  AO  FASSA  FAIIA (Military History Ambassador)

Ben Roberts-Smith  VC  MG

Michael von Berg  MC OAM


Virtual War Memorial Ltd Board

Peter L Williams             (Chairman & Treasurer)

John Baker  ESM            (Deputy Chairman)

Robert Manton

David McGuire

Paul Wiebusch

Sharyn Roberts                  (Secretary)


Virtual War Memorial Team

Chief Executive                             Sharyn Roberts

Schools Program Manager              Dr David Rafferty

Communications Intern                  Edward (Ned) Young 


Principal Researcher, Historian, Author           Robert S Kearney OAM  JP

Research Associate                                       Nicholas Egan