No. 79 Squadron (RAAF)

Normal og0454

About This Unit

Big thumb 79sqnraafcrest

No. 79 Squadron was formed at Wooloomanata, Victoria, on 26 April 1943. The squadron has been formed and disbanded a total of four times. This is why the squadron crest depicts a phoenix. Source

The four eras are:

WWII – 1943–45 – Spitfires
Ubon – 1962–68 – CAC Sabres in Ubon, Thailand
Mirage – 1986–88 – Mirage III in Butterworth, Malaysia
Modern – 1998–2000 MB326H Macchi, then 2000–present Hawk 127 at RAAF Base Pearce.
The squadron has seen active service in the following locations:

Goodenough Island, PNG, 1943
Kiriwina Island, PNG, 1943
Los Negros Island, PNG, 1944
New Britian, PNG, 1944
Darwin, 1945
Morotai Island, Indonesian Papua, 1945
Ubon, Thailand 1962–68.
No. 79 Squadron is located at RAAF Base Pearce in Western Australia.


This content from (



More content under development