No. 5 Operational Training Unit RAAF Wagga 5 OTU Wagga / Tocumwal / Williamtown

About This Unit

No. 5 Operational Training Unit RAAF

OTU were the last stage of training for aircrew before being assigned to an operational unit. By this stage, individuals had 'crewed up' (ie formed and trained) with the other men who were to make up their crew with whom they would fly until separated by death injury illness or re-posting.

5 OTU was formed at formed at RAAF Base Forest Hill, Wagga Wagga on 26 October 1942 as a light bomber training unit equipped with Beaufort and Beaufighter aircraft. The unit was later equipped with Boston and Mosquito bombers and moved to Tocumwal in 1943 and RAAF Base Williamtown in 1944.

After the disbandment of No. 4 Operational Training Unit (4OTU) at Williamtown on 30 April 1944, a small detachment from 4OTU was left behind at the base, pending the arrival of 5OTU. The detachment of 4OTU handed over RAAF Base Williamtown to a 5OTU detachment, which arrived on 1 May 1944. 5OTU became a crew conversion unit after the war and was disbanded in July 1947.